top of page
UKAS symbol.png
Evaluation of fibres by phase contrast microscopy

Four-stage clearance testing


Bridgend Asbestos Services offer UKAS-accredited four-stage clearance testing and all types of asbestos in air monitoring.  All our asbestos in air testing is carried out in accordance with HSE guidance; Asbestos: The analysts’ guide for sampling, analysis and clearance procedures (HSG248).

All Bridgend Asbestos Services' analysts hold the British Occupational Hygiene Society's Certificate of Competence in Asbestos and participate in the Regular Inter-laboratory Counting Exchange, an external quality control scheme run by the Health and Safety Laboratory.  

Clearance air monitoring following removal of asbestos pipe lagging in Merthyr Tyfdil, 2017

The four stages of the asbestos clearance test are:

  • Stage 1:  preliminary check of site condition and job completeness

  • Stage 2:  thorough visual inspection of the enclosure and air/bag locks

  • Stage 3:  clearance air monitoring inside the enclosure 

  • Stage 4:  final assessment of the site for reoccupation after the enclosure is dismantled.


Only on satisfactory completion of all four stages will Bridgend Asbestos Services  issue, usually by email unless agreed in advance, a ‘Certificate of Reoccupation’.  If suitable facilities are available for a site laboratory; ie. a clean environment with a desk, seat, power and lighting; analysis will be undertaken at site so that a stage 3 result is available asap.  

bottom of page